Quick Links



    Clarke selected as captain of ICC Test team

    Colombo: The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday nominated Michael Clarke for the 'International Cricketer of the Year' award and also selected him as captain of the ICC Test team which includes four players from the new No. 1 Test team, South Africa.

    Dale Steyn has found a place in the ICC Test team for the fifth consecutive year, where he will be joined by team-mates Hashim Amla, Vernon Philander and Jacques Kallis this year with AB de Villiers carrying the drinks as the 12th man. Amla, Kallis and Sangakkara have made it to the ICC test XI for the third consecutive year.

    Clarke, who has been given the responsibility to rebuild Australia, will captain players from six countries but none from India. Consistent opener Alastair Cook is in the XI alongside wicketkeeper Matt Prior and fast bowler Stuart Broad from England. Sangakkara has been given the responsible job to bat at No. 3, with Shivnarine Chanderpaul of the West Indies at No. 6. The lone Pakistani in the line-up is Saeed Ajmal, who will be the specialist spinner.

    "Those selected can be justifiably proud of their achievements and well deserving of the recognition they receive as great cricketers of their era," ICC chief executive, David Richardson, said.

    ICC Test XI: 1 Alastair Cook, 2 Hashim Amla, 3 Kumar Sangakkara, 4 Jacques Kallis, 5 Michael Clarke (capt), 6 Shivnarine Chanderpaul, 7 Matt Prior, 8 Stuart Broad, 9 Vernon Philander, 10 Dale Steyn, 11 Saeed Ajmal. 12th man: AB de Villiers