Quick Links



    3rd ODI: B'desh beat Zim, lead 2-1

    Zimbabwe was dismissed for 181 as it chased Bangladesh\'s 246-7 at Dhaka\'s Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium.

    Dhaka: Abdur Razzak and Shafiul Islam claimed four wickets each to help Bangladesh beat Zimbabwe by 65 runs on Monday in their third one-day international.

    Zimbabwe was dismissed for 181 in 48.1 overs as it chased Bangladesh's 246-7 at Dhaka's Sher-e-Bangla National stadium. Bangladesh now leads the five-game series 2-1.

    Prosper Utseya, Zimbabwe's stand-in captain after Elton Chigumbura was injured during practice on Sunday, scored 67 to get his third ODI fifty, before being caught by Imrul Kayes off a Shafiul delivery to end Zimbabwe's innings. However, his teammates failed to show the same persistence.

    Razzak removed both the openers — Brendan Taylor (15), caught by Zunaed Siddique, and Chamu Chibhabha, who was trapped lbw for seven. He also had Hamilton Masakadza stumped by Mushfiqur Rahim for three and trapped Regis Chakabva (5) lbw.

    Shafiul had Craig Ervine caught by Rahim for five and removed Shingi Masakadza (14) and Raymond Price (14).

    Mashrafe bin Mortaza bowled Tatenda Taibu for three while Graem Cremer was stumped by Rahim off Shakib Al Hasan.

    Earlier, Al Hasan and Rahim had scored half centuries and shared a 116-run partnership to build a solid base for Bangladesh's subsequent victory.

    Utseya claimed four wickets for 38 but his effort failed to restrict the home side amid often fierce batting by Al Hasan and Rahim.

    Utseya had Rahim (63) caught by Shingi Masakadza and trapped Al Hasan (73) lbw to make the total 208-6.

    Al Hasan's 17th ODI fifty came off 68 balls that included two boundaries, while Rahim hit five boundaries and reached his seventh fifty off 62 balls.

    After losing the toss, Bangladesh lost opener Tamim Iqbal for a duck in the first over and struggled to 71-4 in the 20th over before Rahim and Al Hasan took charge.

    Opener Kayes kept the top order together, scoring 33 before he was caught by Taibu off Utseya, who also took a catch to remove Siddique (1) and trapped Raqibul Hassan (12) lbw.

    Naeem Islam (23) and Mortaza (11) were unbeaten at the end of the innings.

    Bangladesh named an unchanged lineup from the team which had won the second match to square the series at 1-1.