Quick Links



    Gayle in Windies Test squad

    The 13-member West Indies Test squad that was announced on Monday saw Chris Gayle returning to Test fold after a gap of 18 months.

    Saint John's, Antigua: Chris Gayle was included in the 13-member squad that was announced for the Test series against New Zealand starting on Wednesday.

    Gayle who has been out of action from the longer format of the game for nearly one and a half years, last played a Test against Sri Lanka in 2010.

    Gayle has behind him a formidable performance in the IPL followed by a dominating ODI series against New Zealand and his return will only strengthen the West-Indies batting line-up. The batting will also get a boost in the form of Shivnarine Chanderpaul who was left out of the last Test against England following a side strain.

    Batsman Darren Bravo's exclusion didn't come as a surprise as he's yet to recover from a groin strain sustained during the England series.

    In the bowling department, Sunil Narine has been selected as the only specialist spinner whereas pacer Fidel Edwards was surprisingly left-out.

    Squad: Darren Sammy (captain), Denesh Ramdin (vice captain), Adrian Barath, Tino Best, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Narsingh Deonarine, Assad Fudadin, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Kieran Powell, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels.