India Vs South Africa

    Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy, Group B: Railways outplay Rajasthan

    Anureet Singh starred with a five-wicket haul as Railways thrashed Rajasthan by 113 runs on the fourth and final day.

    Jaipur: Medium-pacer Anureet Singh starred with a five-wicket haul as Railways thrashed Rajasthan by 113 runs on the fourth and final day of their Ranji Trophy Group B match here on Sunday.

    Chasing 256 for a victory, Rajasthan crumbled to 136 all out in 56.3 overs. Ranjitkumar Mali also came up with a fine bowling performance to notch up four wickets and complement Anureet.

    Opener Siddharth Saraf was the top-scorer for Rajasthan with a 39 but it was shambolic performance by the rest of the line-up against a thoroughly disciplined bowling performance by the visiting side.

    Overnight 5 for no loss, Rajasthan were dealt the first blow when Vineet Saxena (10) became Krishnakant Upadhyay's only victim of the innings.

    Thereafter, the collapse was pretty quick enough with four batsmen failing to touch the double-digit mark. Rajasthan failed to build a single partnership of worth as Anureet and Mali combined to rip through the opposition line-up.

    Anureet's 53.2 overs cost merely 52 runs with 11 of them going maiden. Mali, on the other hand, gave away just 34 in his 12 overs, two of which were maiden.

    With this win, Railways reached top of the points table in group B with 17 points after four matches.

    Brief scores: Railways: 283 and 150

    Rajasthan: 178 and 136 all out in 56.3 overs (Siddharth Saraf 39, Anureet Singh 5/52, Ranjitkumar Mali 4/34).

    UP earn three points against Tamil Nadu

    Meerut: Legspinner Piyush Chawla showcased his batting abilities with an impressive 153 as hosts Uttar Pradesh earned three vital points on the basis of their first innings lead against Tamil Nadu in the Ranji Trophy Group B match which ended in a tame draw.

    Skipper Chawla scored his fifth first-class century, during which he faced 279 deliveries and hit 14 fours and six sixes, as Uttar Pradesh stretched the score from overnight 411 for 7 to 500 for 9 declared at Bhamashah Stadium.

    Tamil Nadu scored 128 for 2 in their second innings with opener Abhinav Mukund hitting an unbeaten 149-ball 56 while Test specialist Murali Vijay contributing 38 off 52 balls before being trapped lbw by Chawla.

    The bowler struck soon when he had S Badrinath bowled for 16, but Mukund and Baba Aparajith (15 not out) prevented any further damage.

    Brief scores: Tamil Nadu 1st innings: 297 & 128 for 2 in 48 overs (Abhinav Mukund 56 not out; Piyush Chawla 2/17)

    Uttar Pradesh 1st innings: 500 for nine decl in 183 overs (Piyush Chawla 153, Eklavya Dwivedi 70; R Aushik Srinivas 4/168).

    Services earn three points against MP

    New Delhi: Naman Ojha scored his second double-hundred but Services walked away with three points after drawing their Ranji Trophy Group B match against Madhya Pradesh.

    Resuming at their overnight score of 127 for 3, Madhya Pradesh batted the entire day in their second innings to finish at 385 for 7 at Palam A Ground, Model Sports Complex.

    Services earned three points on first-innings lead and are placed third from bottom in their group while the visitors took one to be placed fourth.

    Brief scores: Madhya Pradesh 239 and 385 for 7 in 128 overs (Naman Ojha 211, Koteshwar Rao 3/82) drew with Services 391 (Yashpal Singh 142, Rajat Paliwal 99; Jatinb Saxena 4/47, Jalaj Saxena 4/83).

    Bengal get three points vs Saurashtra

    Kolkata: Hosts Bengal employed negative tactics in the final two sessions to ensure three points by virtue of first innings lead against Saurashtra in a Ranji Trophy Group B match.

    Chasing a victory target of 273, Saurashtra scored 189 for 4 in 72 overs when play was called off with skipper Jaydev Shah scoring an unbeaten 104 off 162 balls - only his fifth century in 82 first-class matches.

    Bengal looked good for full points when they reduced Saurashtra to 38 for 4 at the end of the 15th over with Ashok Dinda again castling Cheteshwar Pujara (9).

    Openers Bhushan Chauhan and Sagar Jogiyani were dismissed by Sourav Sarkar after which Dinda removed Pujara and Sheldon Jackson.

    Brief scores: Bengal 303 & 194.

    Saurashtra 225 & 189/4 (Jaydev Shah 104 no, Aarpit Vasavada 50, Ashoke Dinda 2/57).