Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy, Group C: Jammu and Kashmir beat Andhra by 17 runs

    Reduced to 79 for eight on Saturday, Andhra folded for 124 while chasing a meagre 142 for victory.

    Reduced to 79 for eight on Saturday, Andhra folded for 124 while chasing a meagre 142 for victory. (AFP Photo)

    Anantapur: Jammu Kashmir completed the formalities by dismissing the two remaining Andhra Pradesh batsmen to notch up a 17-run win on the fourth and final day of their low-scoring Ranji Trophy Group C match on Sunday.

    Reduced to 79 for eight on Saturday, Andhra folded for 124 while chasing a meagre 142 for victory.

    Marripuri Suresh was the lone Andhra batsman to put up a semblance of fight against J&K with a 104-ball 50, which included seven hits to the fence.

    For J&K, all their bowlers delivered with Ram Dayal and Mohammed Mudhasir bagging three wickets each. Samiullah Beigh picked up two wickets.

    Brief score: Jammu & Kashmir: 225 and 121 Andhra Pradesh: 205 and 124 all out in 44.4 overs (Marripuri Suresh 50, Ram Dayal 3 for 31, Mohammed Mudhasir 3 for 19).

    Hyderabad dismiss Himachal Pradesh for 111, register 185-run win

    M Ravi Kiran returned with a four-wicket haul to led a disciplined bowling attack as Hyderabad shot out Himachal Pradesh for a paltry 111 in their second innings to notch up a convincing 185-run victory.

    Resuming at their overnight score of 319 for 7, Hyderabad declared their second innings at 355 for 8 in 113.5 overs. The visitors then produced a spectacular bowling attack to annihilate the hosts in 35.5 overs, courtesy Kiran (4 for 42), Alfred Absolem (2 for 27) and Pragyan Ojha (2 for 8).

    Pagadala Naidu (1 for 20) and Hanuma Vihari (1 for 11) also accounted for one wicket each at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association stadium. With this outright victory, Hyderabad registered six points, while HP had to return empty handed.

    Earlier, resuming his innings at 77, Syed Quadri completed his century in 154 balls, scoring 101, which was laced with 17 hits to the fence. Himachal could hardly provide a fight in their second innings as they lost wicket regularly. Opener Prashant Chopra was the first to be dismissed in the sixth over by Naidu, Sangram Singh too lost his wicket soon in the 12th over when Vihari trapped him infront of his wicket as HP slipped to 30 for two.

    Spinner Ojha then weaved his magic, dismissing Abhinav Bali (15) and Maneik Mohil (0) in the 19th over. Kiran then joined the party and got rid off highest-scorer Paras Dogra (37) and skipper Rahul Dhawan (0) in the 30th over as the hosts slumped to 73 for six.

    In the next six overs, HP lost their remaining four wickets as Hyderabad celebrated.

    Brief score: Hyderabad: 237 & 355 for 8d (SA Quadri 101; AN Chauhan 5 for 98) Himachal Pradesh: 296 & 111 all out in 35.5 overs (P Dogra 37; M Ravi Kiran 4 for 42).

    Tripura suffer innings defeat against Assam

    An improved batting performance from Tripura was not enough to save their Ranji Trophy Group C match against Assam as they crashed to an innings and 55-run defeat on the final day.

    Tripura, who had conceded a huge 389-run first innings lead to Assam, had a bad start after resuming the day at 156 for three as they lost overnight batsmen Abbas Ali (12) and Samrat Singha (79) to pacer Abu Nechim.

    Yogesh Takawale scored 68 off 109 balls and was well supported by Timir Chanda as the pair added 72 for the seventh wicket.

    However, once Takawale fell, Nechim and Jamaluddin Syed Mohammed combined to take regular wickets and dismiss Tripura for 334.

    Nechim finished with 4 for 78 to add to his three-wicket haul in the first innings. Arup Das, Pritam Das and J Syed Mohammad took two wickets each.

    Assam secured seven points for winning the match by an innings while Tripura got none.

    Brief scores: Assam: 525 for 5 dec beat Tripura 136 and 334 all out in 120.5 overs (Samrat Singha 79, Yogesh Takawale 68; Abu Nechim 4 for 78) by an innings and 55 runs.

    Maharashtra vs Goa Ranji match ends in draw

    Pune: Goa lower order batsmen frustrated Maharashtra with a resolute batting display as their Ranji Trophy Group C match ended in a draw on the final day.

    Wicketkeeper Keenan Vaz (57) and number nine Saurabh Bandekar (63) produced solid batting show after Hanumant Gadekar was out on 95 after adding just 12 runs to his overnight 83 to take Goa to 439 all out.

    Goa consumed 46.3 overs on Sunday for the addition of 142 runs after resuming the day at 297 for 5 and Maharashtra decided not to impose a follow on despite taking a 196-run first innings lead. In their second innings, Maharashtra were 109 for 3 in 26 overs before the match ended in a draw.

    Brief scores: Maharashtra: 635

    Goa: 439 all out in 162.3 overs (Hanumant Gadekar 95; Domnic Joseph 4/82) and 109 for 3 in 26 overs.