Quick Links



    Bengal beat MP to enter Vijay Hazare SFs

    Ashok Dinda continued his superb form in the domestic circuit taking 5/54 as Bengal beat Madhya Pradesh.

    New Delhi: Buoyed by his India call-up, speedster Ashok Dinda continued his superb form in the domestic circuit as his five-wicket haul helped Bengal beat Madhya Pradesh (MP) by 15 runs, in the quarter-final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy played at the Palam ground.

    Opting to bat on a slow track, Bengal made 230 for eight in 45 overs after the match started an hour late. In reply, MP were all-out for 215 in 44.3 overs with Dinda (5/54 in 9 overs) getting his maiden five-wicket haul in List A (domestic one- dayers).

    In his first spell, he dealt a telling blow getting three quick wickets which included two of their most dangerous players in Naman Ojha and Jalaj Saxena. Ojha (2) couldn't check his stroke as he drove uppishly to gift an easy catch to Laxmi Ratan Shukla at mid-on. In that very over, he got one to nip back and had Jalaj caught by Shreevats Goswami behind the stumps.

    In his fourth over, Dinda got Rameez Khan caught by Shukla and then the former Bengal captain came into the attack to induce an edge off Mohnish Mishra which was snapped by Goswami behind the stumps to reduce MP to 42 for four.

    Udit Birla (26), Harpreet Singh (36) and Anand Singh (53) tried their bit on a pitch that was getting increasingly difficult to bat on.

    In the morning, it was Wriddhiman Saha (53, 52 balls, 6x4), ODI specialist Manoj Tiwary (48, 63 balls, 3x4, 1x6) and Anustup Majumdar (55, 57 balls, 6x4, 1x6) helped Bengal reach a competitive score after opting to bat. Sourav Ganguly (8, 17 balls, 1x4) failed with the bat yet again.

    While Tiwary and Saha added 75 runs for the fourth wicket, Saha and Majumdar added another valuable 74 runs for the seventh wicket which proved to be decisive in the end.

    Brief Scores:

    Bengal 230/8 (W Saha 53, A Majumdar 52, M Tiwary 48, TP Sudhindra 2/47). UP 215 in 44.3 overs (Anand Singh 53, A Dinda 5/54, LR Shukla 2/37). Bengal won by 15 runs to move into the semi-finals.