Quick Links



    Elite Div: Kanitkar ton guides Rajasthan

    Rajasthan skipper Hrishikesh Kanitkar led from the front in the Ranji Trophy match against Mumbai

    Rajasthan skipper Hrishikesh Kanitkar led from the front in the Ranji Trophy match against Mumbai (PTI)

    New Delhi: Defending champions Rajasthan put up a strong show against Mumbai on the opening day of the second round of the Ranji Trophy Elite Division on Thursday, while last year's runners-up Baroda bowled out Madhya Pradesh for a paltry 63 to take a sizable first-innings lead.

    Rajasthan ended day one at 309 for 4 after electing to bat in a highly-anticipated match at Mumbai's Brabourne Stadium. Skipper Hrishikesh Kanitkar led from the front as he remained unbeaten on 129 at stumps, with valuable contributions coming from Vineet Saxena (53) and Rashmi Parida (67). Medium-pacer Dhawal Kulkarni picked up two wickets for Mumbai.

    The match has been billed as a revenge game for the hosts after they were knocked out by Rajasthan in the quarter-finals stage last season.

    In another Group B match, Baroda took a 144-run lead after bowling out Madhya Pradesh for 63 at Vadodara's Moti Bagh Stadium. Medium pacers Firdaush Bhaja (4 for 19) and Irfan Pathan (3 for 23) did the bulk of the damage after Baroda captain Pinal Shah chose to field in seaming conditions. The home team were 207 for 4 in reply, with Aditya Waghmode missing out on a hundred by one run. Ambati Rayudu was batting on 80.

    At Chepauk, Haryana, courtesy a fighting 95 by Priyank Tehlan, survived a middle-order collapse and recovered to 264 for 7 in a Group B game against Tamil Nadu.

    Openers Nitin Saini (43) and Rahul Dewan (22) provided a solid start for Haryana, who won the toss and opted to bat first, by putting on 48 runs.

    However, home team skipper and new ball bowler Lakshmipathy Balaji triggered a collapse by taking three wickets in just 11 deliveries right before lunch as Haryana crashed from 83 for 1 to 90 for 5.

    Tehlan and Prateek Pawar (23) added 81 runs for the sixth wicket to retrieve their position. Thereafter, Tehlan and skipper Amit Mishra (31 not out) put on 66 runs for the seventh wicket as Haryana ended the day on a satisfying note.

    Former India Under-19 opener Tanmay Srivastava struck an unbeaten 134 as hosts Uttar Pradesh reached 266 for 4 against Saurashtra.

    The 21-year-old southpaw hit 20 boundaries in his unbeaten 268-ball knock as Saurashtra medium pacer Sandeep Maniar was the most successful bowler grabbing 3 for 53. UP skipper Suresh Raina had a disappointing outing as he was out for a duck after scoring a double century in the last match against Punjab.

    India's ODI specialist Ravindra Jadeja went for 53 in his 20 wicket-less overs.

    There were centuries elsewhere as well, as captain Parthiv Patel (100) and Niraj Patel (111 not out) took hosts Gujarat to 35 for 6 against Delhi at stumps on the opening day.

    Opting to bat, Parthiv led from the front, scoring his ton off just 120 balls, while Niraj remained unbeaten on 111 that came off 203 deliveries to guide Gujarat to a comfortable position.

    Elsewhere, though out-of-favour India spinner Harbhajan Singh managed just one wicket, rookie seamers Sandeep Sharma (4 for 52) and Brainder Sran (3 for 62) made up for that by sharing seven between them, which reduced Orissa to 246 for 9 against Punjab.

    Elite Division scores:

    Group A:

    At Mumbai: Rajasthan 309-4 in 89.3 overs (Hrishikesh Kanitkar 129 not out, Rashmi Parida 67, Dhawal Kulkarni 2-61) vs Mumbai.

    At Mohali: Orissa 246-9 in 83 overs (Basant Mohanty 58 not out, Subhrajit Sahu 56, Sandeep Sharma 4-52, Braider Sran 3-62) vs Punjab.

    At Meerut: Uttar Pradesh 266-4 in 90 overs (Tanmay Srivastava 134 not out, Parvinder Singh 47, Sandip Maniar 3-53) vs Saurashtra.

    Group B:

    At Baroda: Madhya Pradesh 63 in 27.3 overs (Irfan Pathan 3-25, Firdaush Bhaja 4-19, Murtuja Vahora 2-16), Baroda 207-4 in 55 overs (Aditya Waghmode 99, Ambati Rayudu 80 not out, TP Sudhindra 2-58, Anand Rajan 2-55).

    At Valsad: Gujarat 358-6 in 90 overs (Parthiv Patel 100, Niraj Patel 111 not out, Vikas Mishra 4-67) vs Delhi.

    At Chepauk: Haryana 264-7 in 90 overs (Priyank Tehlan 35, Nitin Saini 43, Laxmipath Balaji 3-34, Sunny Gupta 2-50, Aushik Srinivas 2-56) vs Tamil Nadu.