Quick Links



    Ruhunu vs Leicester: As it happened

    Dinesh Chandimal holds the key for Ruhunu Eleven against Leicester.

    Dinesh Chandimal holds the key for Ruhunu Eleven against Leicester. (AFP)

    Abdul Razzaq's blazing 68 went in vain as Leicester lost the match by 4 runs.

    Leicester Innings:

    20th over: Ruhunu Elevens have brilliantly fought back to win a thriller by 4 runs. Leicester needed 10 runs from the last over was unable to get off the hook in the penultimate over. Leicester have been eliminated from the tournament and it gives Ruhunu a chance to qualify for the main event.

    18th over: Leicester need 15 runs from 12 balls to win the match with three wickets in hand. Jacques Du Toit and C Henderson are in the middle. This is turning out to be a close finish.

    15th over: Brilliant over for Ruhunu Elevens, two wickets in an over with Razzaq the first man to falls after a mind-blowing innings of 68 from just 46 balls and it was followed with Nixon's wicket. Janaka Gunaratne picked up the crucial scalps.

    14th over: There is no stopping Razzaq, with luck on his side, all-rounder is just dealing in sixes. A huge six followed by another catch dropped has put English Champions in cruise control of the things. Fifteen came of the over.

    13th over: Important wicket for Ruhunu at crucial stage. James Taylor the latest batsman to fall trying to cut, the ball skidded off the pitch with some bounce leading to his dismissal. Things could have gone worse for Leicester, but Janoda dropped a sitter from Razzaq.

    12th over: A big big over for Leicester, Razzaq is in sublime form as he brought up his fifty from just 36 balls. Thirteen came off the over with Razzaq hitting a boundary and a huge six.

    10th over: Alankara Asanka Silva picks up another one, Jefferson the latest batsman to fall as he was adjudged LBW trying to slog sweep the spinner. Batsman can call himself by unlucky as the ball hit him outside the line of off-stump.

    8th over: Important wicket for Ruhunu Elevens as Leicester lose their second wicket with 73 on board. McDonald was the man to fall for 24 off 15 balls. AA Silva tossed the delivery and McDonald skipped down the track but was done in by the flight.

    5th over: Another big over for the batting side, thirteen came off Arosh Janoda's second over. McDonald hit two boundaries and took couple of singles and a double. Leicester are in commanding position.

    4th over: Another superb over for the batting side, Leicester scored another ten runs from the over with Abdul Razzaq in top form smashing two boundaries.

    3rd over: After being smashed over the long off fence for huge six, pacer Arosh Janoda came back strongly to send back Cobb to the pavilion. Cobb got a top edge looking to pull but he miscued it completely and was caught by TM Sampath who almost made a hash of it but redeemed himself with a one handed take.

    2nd over: Another good over for the English Champions, eleven came of the over with couple of run out chances went begging for Ruhunu Elevens. But Pakistani all-rounder Abdul Razzaq smashed two cracking boundaries.

    1st over: Great start for Leicester chasing 161 to win. Twelve runs came off the very first over that produced one magnificent six off the last ball. Janaka Gunaratne pitched the ball up, Joshua Cobb slammed it over the long off fence.

    Ruhunu Eleven Innings:

    20th over: Dinesh Chandimal played another fine knock (62 off 51) to help his side post a competitive 160/6 in their must-win game against Leicester at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium on Wednesday. He was well supported by Shalika Karunanayake by scoring 28 off 15 balls.

    17th over: Chandimal gets to his second consecutive fifty. He took 45 balls to get to the figure. He also scored 50 against Trinidad & Tobago in their first game.

    15th over: Rain plays hide and seek as umpires send the groundsmen, who had come running into the ground with covers, back after calling them in.

    14th over: Ruhunu 95/4 at the end of 14 overs, with Chandimal closing in on another half-century while Milinda Siriwardana supporting him well.

    11 over: Chandimal kept scoring despite losing partners at the other end. Ruhunu 72/4.

    9th over: Dinesh Chandimal hit a glorious straight six off Claude Henderson.

    8th over: Ruhunu lost their third wicket in the form of Kushal Janith Perera (19) who got out while trying to pull an Abdul Razzaq's delivery.

    5th over: A good over for Ruhunu as one huge six over long off and a boundary by K Perera helped them to up the ante. Ruhunu are 34/2 after 5 overs with K Perera and Chandimal in the middle.

    4th over: Another one gone, Harry Gurney celebrates his second wicket of the match courtesy to caught and bowled. Udawatte the man to go for 2. Not the greatest of the deliveries but the miscued shot let to his downfall.

    3rd over First six for Ruhunu Elevens, Dinesh Chandimal smacks the bowler over the long-off. He got a flat one around off, he went on his knees to lofts it over the long off on the bowling of Jigar Naik.

    2nd over Great comeback by Harry Gurney, after being smashed by Sanath Jayasuriya on the off side four four, he bowled a superb slower delivery and clean bowled the danger man. Jayasuriya walks back for 6.

    Leicester stand-in skipper Andrew McDonald won the toss and decided to field first against Ruhunu Eleven at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium here on Wednesday.

    Leicester got a jolt ahead of their Wednesday's game when their regular captain Matthew Hoggard could not recover from an injury he suffered in Tuesday's game against Trinidad & Tobago.

    Ruhunu brought in Alankara Asanka Silva in their line-up.

    It's a must-win game for both the teams to keep their hopes alive to qualify for the main event.


    Leicestershire: Joshua Cobb, Andrew McDonald(c), Will Jefferson, Wayne White, James Taylor, Paul Nixon(w), Abdul Razzaq, Jacques Du Toit, Claude Henderson, Jigar Naik, Harry Gurney

    Ruhunu: Sanath Jayasuriya, Mahela Udawatte(c), Dinesh Chandimal(w), Milinda Siriwardana, Janaka Gunaratne, Chinthaka Perera, Kushal Janith Perera, Shalika Karunanayake, TM Sampath, Arosh Janoda, Alankara Asanka Silva