Quick Links



    India-Aus Tests to start in Chennai

    The match schedule for the four-Test series, to be played in February-March 2013, has been revised.

    New Delhi: The BCCI has revised the schedule for the upcoming four-Test series between India and Australia next month, allotting the opener to Chennai followed by fixtures in Hyderabad, Mohali and Delhi.

    As the per the new itinerary, the first Border-Gavaskar Test will be held at the MA Chidambaram Stadium from February 22-26, followed by fixtures in Hyderabad (March 2-6), Mohali (March 14-18) and Delhi (March 22-26).

    On December 28, 2012 the BCCI had shifted the third Test to the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad from Green Park, Kanpur. Per that itinerary, the series was to begin in Delhi and end in Chennai, with Mohali and Hyderabad hosting the second and third Tests. All four venues have now been rearranged. The BCCI did not offer give a reason for the changes in a press release on Monday.

    Chennai last hosted a Test in December 2008, when India created history by completing a famous six-wicket victory that saw the fourth-highest total in Test cricket achieved.

    India v Australia schedule

    1st Test, Chennai – February 22-26

    2nd Test, Hyderabad – March 2-6

    3rd Test, Mohali – March 14-18

    4th Test, Delhi – March 22-26