Quick Links



    CLT20 Final: as it happened

    Harbhajan Singh took three wickets as Mumbai Indians beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by 31 runs.

    Royal Challengers' innings:

    Over No. 20: Maiden title for Mumbai! Harbhajan Singh led from the front with three key wickets as Mumbai Indians ended their trophy drought by clinching the Champions League Twenty20 title after beating the Royal Challengers Bangalore by 31-runs here on Sunday. RCB 108 all out.

    Over No. 17: Challengers stare defeat! Harbhajan gets his third as Vettori too departed while trying to hit a big shot off the off-spinner. Terrific performance by Mumbai Indians' captain. RCB 96/7

    Over No. 13 to 15: More trouble for Bangalore! Another RCB wicket has gone. Arun Karthik couldn't repeat his heroics against the Redbacks as Chahal got him caught off Pollard at long-off. RCB 81/5

    Over No. 12: Kohli departs! After Mayank Agarwal, Mumbai strike with the Kohli's wicket. Harbhajan Singh is making his presence felt with two important wickets so far. Mumbai are back with a bang. RCB 74/4

    Over No. 11: Some quite overs! RCB are losing wickets one after the other and their batsmen are finding it hard to stick at the wicket. RCB 67/3

    Over No. 9: Kohli the key! The young batsman got back-to-back man-of-the-match awards for the two match-winning half-centuries and he is once again holding the key for the Challengers. RCB 62/2

    Over No. 6: Gayle departs! Harbhajan Singh got the big wicket of Gayle. The burly West Indian was given out lbw despite taking a big stride forward. RCB 43/2

    Over No. 5: Finally a breakthrough for Mumbai! Dilshan becomes the first victim of his compatriot Malinga as the slingy bowler produces another toe-crushing yorker that crashes into the stumps. RCB 41/1

    Over No. 3: Dilshan, Gayle on song! The shoulders of the Mumbai Indians' players have already started drooping as both the RCB openers are scoring runs at the rate of knots. RCB 29/0

    Over No. 1: Blistering start! Dilshan starts the proceedings for the Challengers with a brilliant cover drive off Malinga. Gayle, too, followed it with crisp four in the off side. RCB 11/0

    Mumbai Indians innings:

    Over No. 20: MI 139 all out! Three run-outs changed the innings for the Mumbai Indians as they could only manage 139 runs in their twenty overs in the CLT20 final against the Royal Challengers Bangalore here on Sunday.

    Over No. 19: Mumbai coming apart! Raju Bhatkal strikes with two quick wickets (Sathish and Malinga) in the penultimate over. Malinga goes and with that the hopes of Mumbai to reach a competitive total. MI 136/9

    Over No. 18: Malinga the key! He has already helped Mumbai clinch a thriller against the Chennai Super Kings in their opening encounter and is turning it on again. The Sri Lankan fast bowler has hit two sixes already and looking good for few more. MI 128/7

    Over No. 15: Another run-out! Franklin, who took the Mumbai score past the 100-run mark, got run-out after a a misunderstanding while stealing a second run with Kieron Pollard. MI 109/5

    Over No. 14: Yadav wicket! The right-hander played some well-timed strokes before getting run-out while trying to back up a little too much at the non-striker's end. MI 106/4

    Over No. 12: Franklin holding the fort! The tall Kiwi all-rounder keeps the scoreboard ticking and doing everything possible to take Mumbai to a competitive total. MI 82/3

    Over No. 10: Rayudu fails again! Just like some previous occasions, the young Mumbai batsman could not keep the ball down and gave a simple catch to Chris Gayle in covers off Raju Bhatkal. MI 71/3

    Over No. 8: Will they break the shackles? Mumbai batsmen just couldn't time the ball. All of them are finding it hard to tackle the slowish nature of the wicket in Chennai. MI 54/2

    Over No. 6: Franklin's six! Sreenath was hit for a maximum by the Mumbai Indians all-rounder. Big shot over the mid-wicket fence. MI 43/2.

    Over No. 4: Kanwar wicket! Nannes strategy of bowling full paid the dividends at last as he clean bowled the right-hander through the gates. MI 24/2

    Over No. 3: No leeway! RCB bowlers keep the Mumbai batsmen in check. Neither Kanwar nor Rayudu were given any freebies. Dirk Nannes keeps the ball up to the batsmen, making it difficult to drive the ball on the slow Chidambaram wicket. MI 21/1

    Over No. 2: Blizzard wicket! Kanwar found ball watching as he did not respond to Blizzard's loud call for a single and got the Aussie batsman out. MI 15/1

    Over No. 1: surprise surprise! Tillakarantne Dilshan opens the bowling for the RCB. And guess what, Sarul Kanwar hits the first six of the match, clearing the leg side fence on the last ball of the over. MI 9/0.

    In an all-India CLT20 final here at the MA Chidambaram Stadium on 'Super Sunday', the two IPL powerhouses Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore trained guns at each other in an attempt to win the first trophy ever for their franchises. And to start things off, MI skipper Harbhajan Singh won the toss and chose to bat first.

    For the big game, both the skippers backed the team that took them to the final, electing not to tinker with the winning combination.

    The final could well turn out to be between RCB's batting led by Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli, and Mumbai's bowling attack spearheaded by Lasith Malinga with support from Harbhajan's off-spin.

    While RCB bowlers have conceded totals of over 200 in their last two matches, their batsmen have more than made up for it by chasing down the stiff targets to book a place in the semifinals.

    In contrast, absence of skipper Sachin Tendulkar at the top has prevented any rollicking starts for Mumbai and they needed their lower order to chalk out some close wins that book them a place for them in the last four.

    In the semi-finals, while Gayle's fireworks helped RCB chase down a total of over 200 (203) against New South Wales for the second consecutive match, Malinga scripted Mumbai's 10-run close win over Somerset.

    Royal Challengers Bangalore: Chris Gayle, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Virat Kohli, Saurabh Tiwary, Mohammad Kaif, Mayank Agarwal, Raju Bhatkal, Arun Karthik (wk), Daniel Vettori (c), Dirk Nannes, Sreenath Aravind.

    Mumbai Indians: Aiden Blizzard, Sarul Kanwar, Suryakumar Yadav, Ambati Rayudu (wk), James Franklin, Kieron Pollard, R Sathish, Harbhajan Singh (c), Lasith Malinga, Abu Nechim Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal.

    (Full Scorecard)