Quick Links



    No NZ central contracts for Tuffey

    Franklin was among seven players included last year who did not receive new contracts for 2011-12.

    Wellington: Allrounder James Franklin's productive season with the Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League failed to save his place in New Zealand Cricket's list of 20 contracted players released on Friday.

    Franklin was among seven players included last year who did not receive new central contracts on the 2011-12 list.

    The 30-year-old Wellington allrounder was named man of the match for his unbeaten 45 off 23 balls and his 2-35 as Mumbai beat the Kolkata Knight Riders to finish third in this season's IPL. But his moderate performances for New Zealand, including at April's World Cup, cost him a central contract for next season.

    Veteran medium pacer Daryl Tuffey, fast bowler Brent Arnel, allrounder Grant Elliott, wicketkeeper Gareth Hopkins, opening batsman Tim McIntosh and off-spinner Jeetan Patel also failed to retain their contracts.

    Wicketkeeper Reece Young, batsman Rob Nicol, young fast bowler Trent Boult and left-arm spinner Luke Woodcock were among players added to the list. Batsman Daniel Flynn and allrounder Neil Broom returned after missing out on contracts last year.

    "Seven changes to the contracted list highlights the fact that there are a number of quality cricketers contesting for the top 20 contracts," selection manager Mark Greatbatch said. "That kind of competitiveness is good for our cricket.

    "There is a good mix of experienced players and promising talent in a list that recognizes strong domestic performances as well as good international form."


    New Zealand Cricket contracted players:

    Hamish Bennett, Trent Boult, Neil Broom, Daniel Flynn, Martin Guptill, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Andy McKay, Kyle Mills, Rob Nicol, Jacob Oram, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Daniel Vettori, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson, Luke Woodcock, Reece Young.