India Vs South Africa

    Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy Final, Day 1: as it happened

    A file photo of Maharashtra batsman Vijay Zol.

    A file photo of Maharashtra batsman Vijay Zol. (PTI Photo)

    High on confidence following their fairytale run this season, underdogs Maharashtra would be eyeing to break their 72-year title jinx when they take on favourites Karanataka in the summit clash of the Ranji Trophy.

    Maharashtra won the Ranji Trophy twice but both the titles came in the pre-Independence era in 1939-40 and 1940-41.

    ALSO SEE Maharashtra aim to end 72-year title drought

    It will be a real test for the Kedar Jadhavs and the Vijay Zols as they take on the seasoned campaigners like R Vinay Kumar and Abhimanyu Mithun while bowlers like Samad Fallah and Anupam Sanklecha will face hard-hitting opener Robin Uthappa, the solid Lokesh Rahul and dependable Karun Nair.