Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy: Badri, UP bowlers shine

    Odisha claimed an edge over Maharashtra in Sambalpur, while Haryana put up a stubborn fight against Delhi in Lahli.

    Kanpur: Uttar Pradesh took the advantage in Kanpur on Saturday by dismissing Baroda for 254 and then reaching stumps at 18 for 0. Suresh Raina’s decision to field was vindicated when his new-ball bowlers snuffed out three early wickets, and then as Piyush Chawla spun out three wickets to peg the visitors back.

    Ankit Rajpoot, in his second appearance in all formats, removed the debutant Dhiren Misty for 0 in the fourth over and then Bhuvneshwar Kumar bowled Aditya Waghmore for 9 in the ninth. Rohit Solanki hit five fours in his 23-ball 35 before becoming Rajpoor’s second wicket, while Abhimanyu Chauhan made 22 off 82 balls before Chawla won an lbw appeal in the 32nd over.

    Ambati Rayudu (85) and Kedar Devdhar (65) scripted a recovery worth 104 runs to put Baroda back on top, but UP’s attack hit back to start a slide from 187 for 4 to 254 all out. Rajpoor returned to have Rayudu caught-and-bowled, and Chawla struck to send back Devdhar and Murtuja Vahora. Rajpoor finished off the innings by bowling Ketan Panchal (31) to claim a career-best 4 for 62. Chawla came back from some stick to finish with 3 for 78.

    In six overs before stumps, Tanmay Srivastava and Mukul Dagar knocked off 18 runs.

    Brief scores: Uttar Pradesh 18 for 0 in six overs trail Baroda 254 in 83.3 overs (Ambati Rayudu 85, Kedar Devdhar 65; Ankit Rajpoot 4/62) by 236 runs.

    S Badrinath’s 29 first-class century put Tamil Nadu in command against hosts Vidarbha in Nagpur, with the visitors finishing the first day on 235 for 3. Put in to bat, Tamil Nadu were 71 for 2 after Shrikant Wagh took out the openers before Badrinath (101*) and Dinesh Karthik (49) forged a stand worth 133 to stamp their authority.

    Badrinath has so far faced 190 balls and hit 14 fours and a six. Batting with him is Baba Aparajith on 11 off 21 balls.

    Brief scores: Tamil Nadu: 235 for 3 in 90 overs (S Badrinath 101*, Dinesh Karthik 49) v Vidarbha

    In Sambalpur, neither team was able to really stamp control of proceedings on day one, but by keeping Maharashtra to 264 for 7 it is hosts Odisha who can claim to having a bit of an edge.

    Having been put in to bat, Maharashtra progressed to 63 without loss before four wickets fell for 35 runs. Basanth Mohanty removed Virag Aware for 25, followed by three quick wickets as Natraj Behera changed his bowling attack. Sangram Atitkar (0), Harshad Khadiwale (43) and skipper Rohit Motwani (10) all fell to different bowlers and when Kedar Jadhav fell for a run-a-ball 33 to Niranjan Behera, Maharashtra had lost five wickets to five different players. Lagnajit Samal became the sixth wicket-taker when he took a caught-and-bowled off the innings top-scorer Ankit Bawne (51) at 217 for 6. Shortly before stumps, the parsimonious Mohanty (22-13-35-2) extracted Chirag Khurana for 48 to give Odisha a later boost.

    Brief scores: Maharashtra 264 for 7 in 90 overs (Ankit Bawne 51, Chirag Khurana) v Odisha

    After a series of shaky batting efforts in Lahli, hosts Haryana stonewalled their way to 219 for 6 on day one against Delhi, riding on good performances by openers Rahul Dewan (71) and Nitin Saini (45). The visitors brought themselves back in the final session with quick wickets to peg back the hosts.

    Opting to bat on a different Lahli track than has been seen in three previous rounds, the Haryana openers played Delhi’s pace battery with ease as Saini scored runs at a brisk pace in the morning session. Parvinder Awana got the first breakthrough but Dewan stitched together decent partnerships with Sunny Singh (28) and Rahul Dalal. In the final session Awana picked up the wickets of Sachin ana (5) and captain Amit Mishra (6) in quick succession to finish with 3 for 39 from 17 overs. Sumit Narwal, Vikas Mishra and Rajat Bhatia got one wicket each. Dalal (42*) and Jayant Yadav (3*) were unbeaten at the close of play.

    Brief scores: Haryana 219 for 6 in 90 overs (Rahul Dewan 71, Nitin Sain 45, Rahul Dalal 42*; Parvinder Awana 3/39) v Delhi