Quick Links



    Mumbai, Railways in quarters

    The defending champion drew their game against Delhi, while Railways beat Bengal by an innings.

    New Delhi: Delhi bow out of this year's Ranji Trophy competition after drawing their encounter with the reigning champion Mumbai at the Roshanara ground on Saturday.

    After getting an improbable target of chasing 560 run in less than a day, the home side finished the last day's play at 242 for six. Mumbai were all-out for 493 in their second essay.

    The only interest leading into the day was whether Virat Kohli, who has been in great form lately, could provide some entertainment to the crowd.

    But the Delhi lad lasted barely 21 minutes and was again dismissed cheaply in the 13th over off Ajit Agarkar.

    With the match already dead as contest, Mumbai pressed hard for another outright win as they reduced Delhi to 69 for five by 22 overs. But Punit Bisht (36) and Rahat Bhatia (57 not out) added 67 runs for the sixth wicket but more importantly consumed an hour and 45 minutes.

    After that Sumit Narwal used the long handle to a good effect as he scored an unbeaten 79 off only 72 balls with the help of nine fours and four sixes.

    Defending champions Mumbai will now meet Rajasthan in their quarterfinal match in Jaipur, while Railways, who registered their biggest victories in recent times by beating Bengal by an innings and 10 runs, will play in an away quarterfinal tie against Baroda.

    Tamil Nadu, who advanced to the quarterfinals after gaining three points from their drawn game against Gujarat, will play Haryana at Lahli while Karnataka, who made to the quarters after a draw against Uttar Pradesh, will meet Madhya Pradesh in Indore. The quarterfinals will start from December 24.

    Meanwhile, English umpire Tim Robinson will officiate in the Ranji Trophy quarterfinal match between Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh which will be held in Indore as a part of the exchange programme between the BCCI and the ECB.

    Similarly, Shahvir Tarpore will officiate two County games in England.

    Brief Scores:

    Mumbai 267 & 493 v Delhi 201 & 242/6;

    Result: Match drawn

    Andhra 230 & 313 v M. Pradesh 341 & 204/1;

    Result: M. Pradesh won by 9 wickets

    Rajasthan 641/7d & 203/2 v Maharashtra 349;

    Result: Match drawn

    Bengal 201 & 134 v Railways 345;

    Result: Railways won by an innings and 10 runs

    Gujarat 173 & 115/4 v Tamil Nadu 240/6d;

    Result: Match drawn

    Karnataka 416 & 537/4 v U. Pradesh 319;

    Result: Match drawn

    (With input from Agencies)