India Vs South Africa

    Quick Links



    SA replaces Boxing Day Test with T20

    SA will host NZ for two Tests, two ODIs and three T20s from December-January, followed by a series against Pak in February-March.

    Cricket South Africa (CSA) has decided to revamp their international season for the 2012-13, and the first casualty is the Boxing Day Test match in Johannesburg. Jacques Faul, CSA's acting chief executive, said the new schedule – which has five Tests, eight ODIs and five Twenty20s spread across eight venues – would attract a wider audience.

    South Africa will host New Zealand for two Tests, two ODIs and three Twenty20s from December-January, followed by a series against Pakistan in February-March.

    "We have made one other important change this season with the New Zealand tour starting with three Twenty20 International matches to be played over the Christmas period, instead of the normal Test match," said Faul. "It should be another bumper summer for our fans, [with] five Test matches, eight ODIs and five Twenty20s at home.

    "This will allow us to continue our policy of rotating limited-overs fixtures among all our affiliates. That was a huge success last season - East London and Paarl, who had been off the international roster for some time, attracted more than 25,000 spectators for the two ODIs [against Sri Lanka] that they hosted. These two provinces are very strong growth areas for the game, [and help] fulfil our mandate of making cricket a truly national sport."

    South Africa will play a Twenty20 against New Zealand in Port Elizabeth on December 26, and the New Year's Test in Cape Town beginning on January 2.

    SA v NZ itinerary

    Dec 21-26 - three Twenty20s

    Jan 2-15 - two Tests

    Jan 19-25 - three ODIs

    SA v Pak itinerary

    Feb 1-26 - three Tests

    March 1-3 - two Twenty20s

    March 10-24 - five ODIs