Quick Links



    Shikhar Dhawan voted Player of the Champions Trophy

    India\'s left-hand opener made his ODI comeback a hugely satisfying one, finishing the tournament as the leading run-getter.

    Shikhar Dhawan: India opener Shikhar Dhawan was on Sunday named the Player of the Series in the ICC Champions Trophy, which India lifted after beating hosts England by five runs in Birmingham. Dhawan, in his first ODI series since the summer of 2011, finished as the leading run-scorer with 363 from five matches, including consecutive hundreds and one half-century, at a staggering average of 90.75 and strike-rate of 101.39.

    The 27-year-old left-hand batsman began the tournament with a 94-ball 114 in India's 23-run win over South Africa at Cardiff and in his next innings scored a match-winning 102 not out off 107 balls against West Indies at The Oval.

    ALSO SEE Dhawan is the future of Indian batting: Kapil Dev

    A brisk 48 followed in the eight-win win over Pakistan, followed by a 92-bak 68 against Sri Lanka in the semi-final. In Sunday's final, Dhawan scored 31 off 24 balls. Along the way, he forged two century and two half-century opening wicket partnerships with Rohit Sharma as India tried out a new opening combination.

    A five-man panel comprising Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager - Cricket, and Chairman Event Technical Committee), Javagal Srinath (former India fast bowler and ICC elite panel match referee), Aleem Dar (ICC elite panel umpire), Scyld Berry (Wisden editor from 2008-2011 and Sunday Telegraph correspondent) and Stephen Brenkley (correspondent of The Independent and Independent On Sunday) chose Dhawan for the award.

    Past Player of the Series winners:

    1998 - Jacques Kallis (South Africa)

    2000 - Not awarded

    2002 - Not awarded

    2004 - Ramnaresh Sarwan (West Indies)

    2006 - Chris Gayle (West Indies)

    2009 - Ricky Ponting (Australia)

    2013 - Shikhar Dhawan (India)

    Previous Comments