Quick Links



    Srinivasan returns as BCCI chief, can't take charge till SC clears his name

    Chennai: N Srinivasan was on Sunday re-elected unopposed as the president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) during the board's Annual General Meeting (AGM).

    The announcement was a mere formality after Srinivasan was the only one to file nomination for the president's post on Saturday. However, the India Cements boss - who has been elected for his third term as BCCI chief - won't be able to discharge his functions due to a Supreme Court order.

    ALSO SEE I am not taking charge of BCCI: N Srinivasan

    The Supreme Court had earlier allowed the AGM to go ahead with the rider that Srinivasan can't discharge his duties as the BCCI president even if elected - until the final verdict in the Jagan Reddy case as well as the case filed by Cricket Association of Bihar secretary Aditya Verma.

    Srinivasan is facing intense criticism on the issue of propriety after his son-in-law and the former Chennai Super Kings' Team Principal Gurunath Meiyappan was charge-sheeted in the IPL betting and spot-fixing scandal. But despite that, he managed to secure the south zone lobby to get his third term in the BCCI office.

    ALSO SEE List of new office bearers of BCCI

    Five vice-presidents were elected unopposed as well. Ravi Savant (west) and Rajiv Shukla (central) replaced Sudhir Dabir and Niranjan Shah - while Arun Jaitley, who had stepped down from the vice-president's position due to his political commitments, was replaced by his DDCA colleague Sneh Bansal (North). Shivlal Yadav and Chitrak Mitra were appointed vice-presidents for South and East zones respectively.

    Meanwhile, Ranjib Biswal was appointed as the IPL Chairman. Sanjay Patel was named the board's Secretary, Anurag Thakur Honorary Joint Secretary and Anirudh Chaudhry Treasurer. Amitabh Choudhary was appointed as head of BCCI marketing committee and TC Mathhew was named National Cricket Academy Chairman.

    ALSO SEE Ranjib Biswal is new IPL chairman

    G Gangaraju was named as the head of BCCI finance committee on Sunday.