Quick Links



    Yuvraj to lead Pune Warriors in IPL4

    Yuvraj Singh was declared as the captain of the Sahara Pune Warriors for the IPL 4 season.

    Lucknow: Mercurial left handed batsman Yuvraj Singh was declared as the captain of the Sahara Pune Warriors as the team announced their 30 member squad on Tuesday for the IPL 4 season.

    Apart from Yuvraj the squad includes Ashish Nehra, Robin Uthappa and Murali Kartik from the domestic circuit, while the international players include Graeme Smith, Angelo Mathews, Tim Paine, Nathan McCullum, Callum Ferguson, Wayne Parnell, Mitchelle Marsh, Jesse Ryder, Jerome Taylor and Alfonso Thomas.

    The young blood of the squad consists of Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Dheeraj Jadhav, Eklavya Dwivedi, Ganesh Gaikwad, Harpreet Singh, Harshad Khadiwale, Imtiyaz Ahmad, Kamran Khan, Manish Pandey, Mithun Minhas, Mohnish Mishra, Rahul Sharma, Sachin Rana, Shreekant Wagh, and Shrikant Mundhe.

    Abhijit Sarkar, Director of Sahara India Pariwar said, “Sahara’s Pune Warriors squad has been constituted with an intention to strike a balance between experience, exuberance, international expertise and promising talent of present and future.

    Keeping in mind the 20:20 format of the game we are looking to play aggressive and entertaining cricket and are confident to make a permanent mark on the league”.

    He further said, “The enviable support and guidance from the Chief Coach, Geoff Marsh and Assistant Coaches, Dermot Reeve and Praveen Amre together leverage their vast and complementing experience in the international cricket to make Sahara’s Pune Warriors a force to reckon with.”